Arhipera goes to the Biennale!

Hi guys,

Today I’m gonna share with you my Venice experience! I’ve spent an entire October weekend in this amazing city with the Arhipera team (my favourite one), at the Biennale of Architecture.

And now I’m going to tell you the things which impressed me the most at this Biennale. This won’t be a ‘Top 10 Things to do in Venice’ (perhaps next time I’ll write one), it will be just a brief presentation of this event. Because, maybe, you’re really interested in architecture and you didn’t have time to come here; or you’re living at the other side of the Earth; or you’re just really curious about it.

As you may know, the Biennale is divided into 2 main parts: Giardini and Arsenale (and several marvellous Venetian palaces which host lots of exhibitions).

On the first day, we visited the Giardini, as the weather proved to be amazingly beautiful.

I liked A LOT of pavilions in this area (which is pretty huge), but I will just mention the ones that I enjoyed the most:

  •  Holland

Its blue lights created a very Zen atmosphere; it had some diagrams which were related to historical happenings

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

  • Poland

It had a really funny scheme about the people who work in order to build a house: the black labour, the architect (unpaid and working overtime), and many others 🙂

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

  •  Narukuma Architects, Japanese Pavilion

Its mock-ups were actually impressive- they were sooo goaaaals

img_7297

  •  Romania

Ok, I didn’t put it here because I’m Romanian, I just loved its exhibition. It had some muppets which you could move easily, while playing a sort of lullaby- a great idea to make the connection between the mass of people and the bellwether

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

  •  The Central Pavilion- AIRES MATEUS, Negative Space

You had the opportunity to feel the negative space. The room was in complete darkness, and the only light that you could see was the one from the cropped walls. You could touch the negative areas, which were all connected to each other and you would realize their harmony. A pretty nice experience, right?

Processed with VSCO with m5 presetp1450625

 

And now, the great and powerful Arsenale!
There were many exhibitions I liked a lot, but these are the ones which impressed me the most:

  •  Peru- Schools in the jungle

p1450879

  • Turkey

It had a boat made of wrecks, which thrilled me pretty much

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

  •  ZAO

I loved its design of small kindergartens. ♥

Processed with VSCO with m3 presetimg_6815

  •  Slovenia

I liked a lot the idea of a library, a great place where you could read a lot of architecture books.

p1450829Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

  •  ADNBA- Hilariopolis

You could actually feel the hard work and the city inside.

Processed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 presetProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset

  •  Italy

It had some wooden pavilions with a very refined form.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

  • South Africa

I literally enjoyed a lot the creative personalized teaching space, which had such a buoyant atmosphere- that kind which makes you love studying. Who wouldn’t love having the school designed like this? Also, the painted chairs inspired me pretty much for some of my next projects.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset

The truth is, I absolutely loved this trip. Not necessary because of the Biennale itself (ok, I must admit that it was brilliant!), but thanks to the beautiful people I went with. The  Arhipera team is my core one, my leading and first-rate squad. These people are so alluring and funny, the type with whom you can talk hours and hours about all the possible subjects- from ex-boyfriends to vernacular architecture and the Big Bang Theory. Honestly, I feel so blessed I’m part of this amazing team, from which I’ve learnt a lot and I’m still learning, made of these great people whom I love a lot.

As the Romanians say, only people can make a place saint. ♥

 

And now let me show you the photos with us:

p1450570p1450500p1450634p1450649p1450687p1450692p1450724p1450734p1450788p1450805p1450978

Photos by me and Daddy. Thank you Dad for organizing this awesome trip and taking this black&white photos ♥

 

3 thoughts on “Arhipera goes to the Biennale!

Leave a Reply

