TOP 10 MOVIES YOU MUST SEE BEFORE CHRISTMAS

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow…10 days till Christmas, guys! Can you believe it? I can’t even wait till the gift opening, as I believe Christmas is the best feast in the whole year, a unique and out-of-sight lovely day.

Without any more enthusiastic introductions, I hereby present you my top 10 Christmas movies – one for each day till this enchanting feast. Hope youʼll like them!

  1. Jingle All The Way

Besides the fact that some years ago I had a crush on the young & fit Arnold Schwarzenegger (I know how crazy it sounds, still it is true ☺), you can assume that I’ve seen almost all his movies. However, Jingle All The Way is one of my favorites, as I believe it perfectly illustrates in a really funny style the consumerist society and the way a saintly kid can persuade a powerless parent.

jinge-all-the-way

  1. A Christmas Carol

When I was small I couldn’t even watch it till the end, as I found it literally scary. And I was like, man, it’s a Disney movie! However, it is a great animation for a pretty spooky story, but the way Disney put it in action makes it more delightful.

  1. The Nightmare before Christmas

I’ve seen it for the first time at school, when I was in the 7th grade. Even though it is a little bit scary (I like this kind of movies, as I believe they’re thought-provoking), in the end everything turns into a magical & unique moment, which people can relive just on the Christmas day.

Honestly, I’m planning to re-watch it these days, as it gives you the feeling that the best holiday is soon to come.

the-nightmare-before-christmas

  1. Deck the Halls

Well, I find it really funny. Firstly, the characters are played in a makes-you-to-laugh-hard way, so that the pointless conflicts are becoming even more ridiculous! If you want to watch a Christmas comedy, this one is a great choice.

deck-the-halls

  1. Home Alone 3

Even though it doesn’t star Macaulay Culkin (aka Kevin), this movie is still a Christmas essential.  Alex, the kid, is also angelic and wants to naughty around, so go watch it as soon as you can!

alex-d-linz-alex-pruitt-home-alone-3

  1. A Princess for Christmas

This movie is a great combination between Christmassy stuff and a romantic comedy. You know, it presents the perfect Cinderella story – the one that all the girls love! Also, there are some beautiful shots of the Peleș Castle and, whatʼs more, the main actors are really good looking, which makes this movie even more enjoyable.

a-princess-before-christmas

  1. The Polar Express

This movie is for sure my favorite Christmas animation. The story is really impressive and I simply love the characters; actually, why not tell the truth, I love this movie end-to-end – from the cartoon design to the character voices!

polar-express-2

polar-express

  1. The Holiday

Ok, this movie is each year’s must! I definitely love the actors, the storyline- everything! Even though you can say that its story is a little bit too common, it is the perfect one to put you in that Christmas mood. What can be better than this vibe?

the-holiday-3

2, 1.  Home Alone

Guess what all the Romanians watch on ProTv before Christmas? Yes, guys, all the Home Alones. Even though the first one is still the favorite, everybody enjoys watching them all, like why not? These movies became symbols of the Christmas vibe and the loving atmosphere, the perfect one to laugh and chat with your dear ones! I think that nearly every Romanian knows Kevin’s story and the chronological succession of the events- we’re professionals!

kevin

home-alone

home-alone-1

Bonus movie

As Dayanayon, a great friend of mine suggested, I will add here Rise of the Guardians, not because of the plot or the animation techniques, but thanks to the fact that she had a crush on Jack Frost when she was little. What a conqueror for small girls… ☺

the-rise-of-the-guardians

Also, I must acknowledge you that this article was written in collaboration with 2 of my good friends, Ioana & Andreea, as they love Christmas – together with Christmas movies- as much as I do!

So, guys, I hope you’ll have a merry little Christmas, full of joy and good thoughts! Love youuu ♥

kevin2

XOXO,

Sylvie

Leave a Reply

